Winners 0f 2010 NED Awards Announced

Peel Hunt, the leading independent broking and advisory firm and principal sponsor of the Annual NED Awards, is pleased to announce this year’s winners. The ceremony was held on 2 March at the Waldorf Hilton, Aldwych. The winners are as follows:

Not-for-Profit: Barbara Scott, Chairman, Bexley NHS Trust

Quoted Company – AIM: John Gregory, Chairman, IS Pharma

Quoted Company – Official List: Phil White, Chairman, Lookers

Unlisted/Private Equity Backed: Colin Smith, Chairman, Poundland

FTSE 100: Mary Francis, Senior Independent Director, Centrica

Overall winner: Mary Francis, Senior Independent Director, Centrica

Simon Hayes, Chief Executive of Peel Hunt, said, “I am delighted for Mary whom the judges praised as a “constantly constructive, able and hard working” model non-executive Director and to all the other category winners on their success at this year’s Awards.”

“The work of NEDs continues to be of vital importance as they guide companies through the challenging economic environment. Their role is more demanding and scrutinised than ever before but their experience and perspective is proving essential to helping companies navigate towards recovery. The NED Awards aim to highlight the work of exceptional non-executives and give them the recognition they deserve.”

As well as sponsorship from Peel Hunt the awards are also supported by, 3i, Alvarez & Marsal, Cranfield School of Management, Heidrick & Struggles, London Stock Exchange, The Non-Executive Directors Association, Pinsent Masons, Standard Life Investments and The Sunday Times.